Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Back to School

Well, tomorrow is it. First day of classes. Second to last semester as a student at DeSales University. I would knock on wood, but there's not really a need.

I have all of my school supplies, I just have to decide which one I want to bring for tomorrow.

I want the weather to get chilly. I also want to buy new shoes...

Not much to say besides I'm very excited for class tomorrow! I think I'll spend today clipping out pictures to hang on my wall.

Thursday, August 20, 2009

Home.

That word is one of the most comforting words in the English language. Not that it had to be said, it is so cliche and overdone. But seriously. Nothing is better than coming home. No matter where your home is: A house, a space in the closet, a person, the corner of your bed, the driver's seat of your car...

Just saying the word is warm and enveloping and sound. HOME.

I will only be here for a few more days and then I will head back to my apartment in Hellertown. My roommate moved in today. I'm excited to get back.

Bob and I were talking the other day via BBM, and he said he was sitting by his pool thinking of goals. He wanted to be successful, become a health nut, and really work on his body and feeling good. When he asked me, I said my goal was to be happy. Happy with myself, where I am at in life, my relationships, happy. However, Bob told me this answer wasn't good enough. That it was a copout of the REAL answer. Yeah sure, happiness is no short-term goal. And yes, it was a quick answer. But that REALLY is what I want. Of course there are other things that I want:

To graduate college knowing what I am going to do next, to develop a five-year plan, to have pets with interesting names, to be published, to fit into the jeans hanging in my closet, to not worry about my skin, to travel, to have an herb garden, to keep my friends, to fall in love, to read all the books I have on my to-do list, to FINISH a to-do list, to find a hair color I'm okay with, to not fight with my mom, to pay my own way, etc etc etc.

But Happiness is the biggest goal. And probably the hardest to obtain.

Well. I'm enjoying the last days of summer I have. Tomorrow I will go to the eye doctors, buy a new pair of glasses, and spend the rest of the morning/afternoon by the pool. Wonderful.

Fall is coming...

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Pre-heat to 350 for Happiness.



Damnit, "Julie&Julia" What have you done to me? You know, for someone who has steadily protested against the female constraints of the domestic sphere... I certainly have been playing that role a lot lately.

I swear, ever since seeing that movie, I have cooked more than I have in the entire time I have lived in that apartment. And all of that cooking means all of those dirty pots, pans, and dishes. But I don't even mind doing that. Today when I woke up and saw it was raining I thought to myself, "Good, I can wash the windows without them streaking." What is my problem!? But getting back to cooking...

I slowly started into it, taking each day of the week as a new challenge...

Monday I made omlettes. I know, nothing extraordinary.

Tuesday I made batches and batches of oat meal. I was convinced I could get the right ratio of milk, oats, and salt for that perfect oatmeal consistency and taste. Needless to say, I gave up on that one.

Wednesday night, I baked cupcakes. At 11:30 at night.

And Yesterday, Thursday night, I decided to make dinner. I had taken a recipe from food network off of the quick summer meals list. shell pasta and sun dried tomatoes over an Italian salad mix, with sprinkled parmesan and goat cheese to top it off.

But then I found a recipe on that fucking smitten kitchen blog for a moist, buttery blueberry cake. So I HAD to make that. Blueberries are in season around this time anyway. The cake was, needless to say, outstanding. I brought the left overs of it into work for anyone else to enjoy. Because there is no way in hell I would be able to live with myself if I polished off the whole pan on my own.

Because I could do it.

But honestly, I love to cook and bake. And I have this decent sized kitchen all to myself. Why not break it in with some gusto, and not to mention, some pretty amazing meals. I have wanted a kitchen of my own all of my life. So now I am hell bent on buying kitchen supplies. And a recipe box. I just REFUSE to keep printing out recipes, folding them in half, and sticking them into my cook book. A cook book I've never really broken in... hmmm... That must change.


So this week is, thankfully, coming to an end. I will see my parents tonight when they bring up my mosaic bistro set, and tomorrow I will go to my interview at Barnes. Still unsure as to how I feel about that though... Then tomorrow night I will help Bob with the nut-stand, go to bed, and wake up Saturday for my last day of Library work this summer. And how nice that will be. For the remainder of the weekend I'll get the apartment ready for Kristen, clean my room, bring home laundry, etc etc. And finally, I will make my way home to New Jersey for a week of nothing.



I will sleep in until I feel rested. I will lay by the pool and tan until my skin is uncomfortably warm, then dive and swim until my skin prunes and my lips purple. Then I'll repeat those steps well into the afternoon. I will read every book I've started this summer, but haven't finished. I won't wear a stitch of makeup the entire time. I will turn my BlackBerry off for days and not care. I will play board games with my family, drink wine with my parents at dinner, get yelled at for laughing too loud in the car, take Lolly for long walks...

I will do the best I can to cram my usual summer schedule into the week I will be home. I will do the best I can to reduce stress to a nothing.



What an amazing plan.

Sunday, August 9, 2009

Lazy Sunday

Marie's visit this weekend was refreshing. It was nice to see her face again after such a long time. Her entire stay was very casual and easy. We went to Bob's for a little, watched a movie, slept in late, went out for lunch, and went shopping. But the highlight of her stay had to have been last night's dinner. It was un-be-lievable!

We made a spicy Mexican shredded chicken stew and corn bread. It was the yummiest thing I have whipped up in a while, and quite possibly, the easiest. Just onion, jalapeno, garlic, a can of crushed tomatoes, chicken broth, and shredded chicken.

Not really feeling like roasting a shredding a whole chicken, I just bought a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. It is so much quicker, tastier, and the chicken is so tender, it just falls off the bone.

Sweat the chopped garlic, onions, and pepper in olive oil, add cumin, and oregano and the crushed tomatoes. Throw in the chicken and simmer it to spicy perfection.

And the corn bread couldn't be easier. Jiffy corn bread, (in the blue box which hasn't changed since, what? 1952?) milk, and an egg. Grease a backing dish and throw in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes and serve warm with the stew.

If your mouth isn't watering already... you have issues. So completely amazing and it stays well in the fridge... even though the left-overs are gone at this point. =)


Anyway, aside from accomplishing that delectable meal, I turned in an application at Barnes&Noble. I have an interview this Friday at 11am. This, for me, is very exciting. I have been dying to work at Barnes for the LONGEST time, but whenever I went to put in an application, they haven't been hiring. The Barnes by my school is hiring in the cafe, but hopefully because of my extensive book experience from working in the library, they'll notice I would be better suited on the floor. But if I do have to work in the cafe, it won't be the worst thing in the world. My roommate worked at Starbucks for years. Hopefully she can throw me some tips.


In a complete change in subject... I am watching Bridezillas, and I do not know why. I think it is one of those things like watching a car crash. You just can't look away. These women are absolutely unbelievable. I'm sure a lot of it is played up because of the show, but the scarier thought to follow that is... What if it isn't?

A few of my favorites are the husband berating red-head who constantly threw her head back and groaned, "Damnit, Dan!". A hefty southern "belle" bride who required her bridal party to be unattractive and weigh over 200lbs. There was a young black girl who took a card box her future mother-in-law made for her and crushed it because "it was damn ugly". A lispy Asian girl bitched and moaned at her fiance about everything and insisted on having two dresses. They looked totally the same. And finally there was the wanna-be desperate housewife who smashed her fist into the cake sample because it wasn't the flavor she requested... even though it was. So why do I watch this? I don't know. Why do women wonder why we get such bad reputations? I don't know.

Maybe we should just video tape ourselves for a week, watch it, and try to improve ourselves from there. I hope all of these women see their episode and take a good look in the mirror.

WeTv should make a sequel to the show: Divorce'-zillas.

"I want the beamer because this is MY divorce and I deserve it!!!"

Saturday, August 8, 2009

Doin' it OUR way.

It is Saturday at the library so I literally have done nothing all day. I would be printing out pictures for the Time-Line display, but the printer is refusing to cooperate. So what can I do?

After writing that one entry, I really am getting a little nervous about my roommate returning. I want us to get along really well, but I am afraid my solo residency might make things difficult. I have to make a conscious effort not to act like the apartment is more mine than hers, because I know I may act that way towards the beginning. I'll just have to let go of my old routines, embrace sharing the space, and get used to her living with me.

Me living with her. It's ours. Not mine or her's, but ours. Mental note...

This may be tough. I need some roommate inspiration.

Back in it.

So, after a very long break from blogging I decided to go ahead and start it up again. To get back in it.

This entire summer has seemed to go by so quickly. School is starting again in less than 20 days. It will be strange, to say the least, but I cannot wait to get back into classes.

Instead of living at home this summer, I have been living on my own in my apartment in Hellertown. Though I have a roommate, she has been in New York this summer, working her job there and commuting to the city for an internship. She will officially be living with me a week before school starts. This will be great, but I will have to get used to living with someone again. When you're on your own, you develop your own routine of things.

I like to play music when I make my morning coffee, and I postpone dishes until the last possible second. I like the apartment slightly chilled, unless it is a breezy day, when all the windows are thrown open. And sometimes, I love the silence of sipping a glass of red wine out on the deck. With a roommate, everything will have to be a compromise. The little things I enjoy so much will be rendered down into little moments, not happenings of the every day.

Oh well, life does go on and things have a way of working themselves out.

For a month or so, specifically after returning from a week at the back around the 4th of July, my life had become a lull. I woke up at 8:15, was at work by 9, done by 4, home by 4:15, watched King of Queens til 5, usually fell asleep after that, made dinner, wandered around the apartment, and then sat in front of the tv until I passed out. It was a very uncomfortable boredom. So, this past week, I was sure to have plans for every night of the week, a subconscious effort to justify my month of nothing.

Monday I went out for an early drink with my friend from work, then met up with my Dad and brother when they visited for Eagles' Training Camp.

Tuesday I went out to dinner with the two of them before they left for New Jersey.

Wednesday my Aunt, Uncle, and their two children visited me for the first time since I have been living on my own. We went to a wonderful Mexican restaurant where the sauces for their chicken mole and enchiladas was outstanding. My aunt even bought me a house warming gift: Vanilla Caramel Yankee Candle.

Thursday my friends Kevin and David visited. We went to Sand's Casino. Kevin won 572.18 on the Wheel of Fortune Machine. He bought drinks for the rest of the night.

Friday I saw "Julie&Julia" with my friend Kathryn. A fantastic movie. We grabbed drinks and shared funny, and slightly inappropriate stories afterward.

And tonight... Tonight I am spending time with my good friend, Marie. She'll be spending the night at my apartment and I decided that instead of going out, we should cook. Yes, this is slightly inspired by the previously said movie, but really! It made me miss cooking so much. During the lull, I would throw Lean Cuisines in the microwave or just go out to get something. That movie made me get into the cooking spirit again. What will be cooked, I am really not sure. Stay tuned.

All in all, things are absolutely coming together and settling where they should be.

I can't wait for my pay-check next week. I am still obsessed with the idea of buying a Scottish Terrier. And a hedgehog. I have to buy some wine tonight...

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

starting up again...

summer is ending, so i'm going to write again for me.

the end.