Sunday, August 9, 2009

Lazy Sunday

Marie's visit this weekend was refreshing. It was nice to see her face again after such a long time. Her entire stay was very casual and easy. We went to Bob's for a little, watched a movie, slept in late, went out for lunch, and went shopping. But the highlight of her stay had to have been last night's dinner. It was un-be-lievable!

We made a spicy Mexican shredded chicken stew and corn bread. It was the yummiest thing I have whipped up in a while, and quite possibly, the easiest. Just onion, jalapeno, garlic, a can of crushed tomatoes, chicken broth, and shredded chicken.

Not really feeling like roasting a shredding a whole chicken, I just bought a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. It is so much quicker, tastier, and the chicken is so tender, it just falls off the bone.

Sweat the chopped garlic, onions, and pepper in olive oil, add cumin, and oregano and the crushed tomatoes. Throw in the chicken and simmer it to spicy perfection.

And the corn bread couldn't be easier. Jiffy corn bread, (in the blue box which hasn't changed since, what? 1952?) milk, and an egg. Grease a backing dish and throw in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes and serve warm with the stew.

If your mouth isn't watering already... you have issues. So completely amazing and it stays well in the fridge... even though the left-overs are gone at this point. =)


Anyway, aside from accomplishing that delectable meal, I turned in an application at Barnes&Noble. I have an interview this Friday at 11am. This, for me, is very exciting. I have been dying to work at Barnes for the LONGEST time, but whenever I went to put in an application, they haven't been hiring. The Barnes by my school is hiring in the cafe, but hopefully because of my extensive book experience from working in the library, they'll notice I would be better suited on the floor. But if I do have to work in the cafe, it won't be the worst thing in the world. My roommate worked at Starbucks for years. Hopefully she can throw me some tips.


In a complete change in subject... I am watching Bridezillas, and I do not know why. I think it is one of those things like watching a car crash. You just can't look away. These women are absolutely unbelievable. I'm sure a lot of it is played up because of the show, but the scarier thought to follow that is... What if it isn't?

A few of my favorites are the husband berating red-head who constantly threw her head back and groaned, "Damnit, Dan!". A hefty southern "belle" bride who required her bridal party to be unattractive and weigh over 200lbs. There was a young black girl who took a card box her future mother-in-law made for her and crushed it because "it was damn ugly". A lispy Asian girl bitched and moaned at her fiance about everything and insisted on having two dresses. They looked totally the same. And finally there was the wanna-be desperate housewife who smashed her fist into the cake sample because it wasn't the flavor she requested... even though it was. So why do I watch this? I don't know. Why do women wonder why we get such bad reputations? I don't know.

Maybe we should just video tape ourselves for a week, watch it, and try to improve ourselves from there. I hope all of these women see their episode and take a good look in the mirror.

WeTv should make a sequel to the show: Divorce'-zillas.

"I want the beamer because this is MY divorce and I deserve it!!!"

No comments: