There have been circumstances occurring in my life as of late that in a sense, aren't that "as of late" at all. These certain situations, which will be elaborated on shortly, have happened a lot in the past, so I guess it's old news. The only thing new is the way I am reacting to them.
As I have said before, if my roommate had her way, she would surgically attach herself to her new boyfriend. Actually, I take that back. She could never have him be surgically attached to her because that would mean he would see her texting her ex-boyfriend all the time. As far as his knowledge goes, her ex is just "a friend from home".
Allow me to comment on THAT. If she plans on having a long term, serious relationship with this guy, WHICH SHE DOES, then will she continue this lie throughout it's entire duration? And yes, it is a lie. Though her ex is her friend from home, we all know that an ex is much more than a friend. So good luck to her with that one.
Continuing on... After I got back from my 3-4:15 class today Kristen, and of course, her boyfriend were in the room. She was fiddling with some of her stuff while I was on my computer. When I turn to look at her, she is standing curiously behind our big circle chair thing. You know, one of those unfoldable ones? She tells me that they're going to the movies and she'll be back in a bit. Whatever, perfectly fine. We say goodbye, and I look back at my computer screen. When I turn back again to watch them leave, I notice she's carrying her big black canvas tote, or as I like to call it, her "over-night bag". I get up, walk to the sink, and notice that she took her toothbrush. I then make the connection that she was standing by the chair in order hide her bag.
Excuse me. We are all adult, human beings here. We've been taught at an early age the fundamentals, the necessity, the importance of communication. Why would she neglect to mention that she is not only seeing a movie, but OH YEAH, sleeping over Sean's. What was she so worried about? That I would say, "NO, DON'T LEAVE ME!" That I would cry? That I would ask if I could sleep over too?
Am I the only one who thinks her actions are absurd?
Little does she know that her sleeping over his house doesn't bother me at all. Because when she is gone, Sean is gone. I don't have to deal with my third roommate. I can put the tv as loud as I want, adjust the heat to how I like it, watch dumb, pointless comedies like "Bench Warmers" without being made fun of. I can read a book without their make-out noises in the background. I can do a thorough inspection of my pores, I can... We'll you all know what I'm trying to get at.
I enjoy the time alone.
So I texted her and said, "Your toothbrush ran away or I guess you're sleeping over Sean's?" She responds, "I wasn't sure when I left, but yeah."
So okay, if I bring this up to her, she'll tell me that she brought the bag "just in case" which we all know is bullshit. The movie theatre, as I told you, is 5 minutes away from school. After the movie, you would have to know if you were sleeping over or not by then, so you shoot back to school and grab your shit! And if you still didn't know then, you would have to pass school anyway to get on the highway to go to his house.
I rest my case with this one. And I didn't write her back. I figured I would save her the trouble of bullshitting me.
All nestled in bed, I get a text from Courtney asking if I am coming out tonight. I had no idea there was a party, but didn't really feel like drinking. And besides, everyone just usually drinks, then goes to the bar anyway and I cannot get in because my fake ID doesn't scan. And they always scan at the bar everyone goes to. But Courtney tells me that the bar isn't happening tonight. So I happily get out of bed, throw on some fresh make-up and my Beastie Boys tee and head out.
The party is the usual scene, and I'm not having as much fun because I'm not drinking, but I'm making the best of it. I make fun of really intoxicated people while having conversations with them, but they're drunk, so they don't catch on. It's how I entertain myself in these situations. I watch flip-cup, beer pong, girl's argue. I'm observing, just like Dickinson.
At around quarter of one, I'm watching Courtney play the longest game of beer pong when I hear her shout, "Okay! Two minutes!!" I immediately look at her, and I know she can tell. After a few moments, she finally meets my eyes. I ask her where she's going. And she says, "I don't know, can you hand me my bag?"
I keep looking at her and I ask if she's going to the bar? Still holding her hand out for her bag, she looks at the other end of the beer pong table and says, "Um, maybe. Yeah. That okay?" The dismissal is what really set me off.
What if I said no? What if I said, "No, Courtney. That's not Okay. Stay here with me." Maybe she would've stayed. But I knew that her going to the bar would just be a chain reaction. Everyone else would go. And I would be either sitting in the house, waiting for her to call me and pick her up OR doing what I'm doing now: Back at my room, chillin with mah-self.
Instead of answering her, I give her the bag and say, "Cool. I'm going. Peace." She calls for me as I'm walking away. I flash her a peace sign and say, "I'm not staying, have fun!"
Courtney is more than welcomed to go to the bar. But don't dick me around acting like you want to have fun with me at a party when really, all you want is a ride so you can get trashed and act like the crazy drunk girl from "Nick and Norah".
As I drove back to campus, I thought about her being that crazy drunk girl and getting in trouble. No matter how mad I was or if I felt conned or stupid or like I wasted my time, I did tell her I would drive her. So I sent her a text telling her to call me to pick her up. I didn't care about the time, I'm just holding out my end of the bargain. And besides, no one else tends to have her back when she gets herself into this state of mind. She texts me back, "Mul i love you", which I think was an attempt to write "OK i love you", but whatever.
Is it wrong that I'm angry? Am I just pissed because I feel left out cause I can't get to the bar? Am I being a baby? Am I taking out my aggression from Kristen onto Courtney? Or am I just fed up?
So now I wait. I'll wait for Courtney to call me, I'll pick her up from the bar, take her to her apartment, make her some food, take her dog out, and make sure she gets into bed with a water bottle after taking some advil.
Good friend or door-mat? I can't tell anymore.
1 comment:
it all comes down to people being sneaky, which is entirely too annoying. but when you said you flashed her the peace sign & said you were leaving, all i wanted to do was give you a high-five.
Post a Comment