Monday, November 24, 2008

The Way I Am- Ingrid Michaelson

Okay, so I am totally procrastinating right now. It's quarter of twelve and I am just starting this paper I have due tomorrow. Nothing majorly serious, just your average comparison paper. But damn. It is really something I am not looking forward to doing. I really have been pushing this off all night. I totally forgot I had to do the damn thing til about six o'clock, causing me to think, "Okay, I'll start working at eight." Well, eight thirty came around, so I figured I should start. So I turned on the tv.

No, no! Not to watch it, to make sure I had the right channel already set so I could just switch on Intervention at nine. Yep, channel forty-four, that A&E. But what's this? An episode of Intervention I've never seen before! Well... I'll just watch and work.

As I'm sure you all have gathered, I did more watching than working. So nine rolls around and it's an episode that I've already seen. So I turn off the tv and sit at my desk. I kid you not, not even five seconds go by and I'm climbing back in my bunk, turning on the tv saying, "Well, I didn't get to see the ending of this one". I was cracking up as the words were coming out of my mouth because I knew how absurd it was! But like I said earlier, had to get in my safe pain for the day. The show ended, I started working again and reading the stories I had to write about. And I am no sooner started than I was at ten when the show ended.

I'll blame it on Thanksgiving. Or intriguing television.

Anyway, I'm pretty obsessed with this song by Robyn called Cobrastyle. You all probably remember Robyn from her '97 smash hit, "Show Me Love". Ha- I sound like such a VJ. I should be wearing something trendy surrounded by dozens of screaming prepubescent kids hovering over time square like I'm God. Thank the Lord the madness of TRL is finally done. Though, I must admit, I did love watching the Bye Bye Bye after school.

But back to Robyn. The song is pretty tight. The video is crazy weird, but hey, it grew on me.

P.s.- Had the best dream this weekend. Ran into an ex and he was super gross and fat and so was his girlfriend. It was pretty ballin. Shallow, but ballin.

God, I am so wasting time right now. Have to get back to work.

And by the way, this weekend with Bob was such a good time. I felt very independent. I took the train from Lansdale to Market East in Philly and walked to the CVS that was on Chestnut and 19th so I could get directions from Aubrey, Bob's housemate. We walked and talked as she explained directions to her house and then the subway. So I walked to the cozy little apartment on 11th between Pine and Lombard, got settled, and headed back out into the cold. From there I trecked to the subway, waited while listening to a man call "all you muslims and A-rabs" the devil. Oh yeah, he was saying this to a Muslim woman. It was... well, it pretty much confirmed why I have never taken the subway. The train finally comes, take that to Spring Garden, walk to the "copy" place to get a "personal identification card", wait a half hour, and walk back the the subway. The gate was opened, so I just walked right down the steps. So now I have an extra subway token. Took the subway back, walked back to the apartment, and let myself in right before dusk. Aubrey got home and then Bob. We met up with Bob's friend, Matt, and went out to dinner. Then it was back to the apartment for pregaming and then off to the bar! We drank, we danced, we laughed, we left. Bob and I power walked up and down the streets, arm in arm, being obnoxious and talking like Ms. Swan from madTV the entire time. Then Aubrey and I weren't allowed into the next bar, I don't even know the name, it was that bad. So we made our way back to the previous bar where I had one last cran and vodka that I later found out I really didn't need. Bob and Matt sipped their ruby drinks and laughed. Mine was red, pink, then gone in a matter of ten seconds. We danced a little more and I announced to everyone, but mainly directed at Bob, how happy I am that we have become so close again. Which is true, sober or not. Dancing lasted until last call where we said goodbye to Matt, bulldozed our way home in the bitter cold that none of us noticed anymore, and passed out with the world spinning around us.

The next day began at one-thirty in the afternoon and was spent walking around South Street. And for those of you who have read previous entries, the boy at Steaks on South wasn't working. But I'll be back. Trust. As we were leaving, we passed the TLA where Ingrid Michaelson was playing that night. I was pissed I didn't hear about it, I would love to see her live. Especially there. It's so small and smokey. I started singing "The Way I Am" to Bob on the street and I smiled. Because I sang the song half-way decently and he does. He does take me the way I am. There are some friends that you kinda have to put up a front around. You may feel like you need to impress them, or you may feel like you have to mold yourself a bit to fit better with them. But with Bob, things are just so easy. So yeah, I had to smile.

Back at the apartment, we ordered chinese food and rented some movies from the coolest movie store in the world. The people there totally made the experience. We watched "Beaches" over green tea, fried wontons, boneless spare ribs, pork fried rice, egg rolls, and white rice. Oh, then fortune cookies. Mine said I was about to come into a lot of money. I laughed.

But like all good times, it had to end. Bob drove my ass back to DSU. I went to bed, only to wake up the next day facing school. Bob woke up facing laundry.


If you have made it to here... wow. Good for you! You actually spent time reading about my mediocure adventures in life, haha.

Yeah, F this. Totally doing this paper tomorrow morning. I'm going to bed!!!

This picture so is damn old, but I looooove it!
Photobucket

No comments: